Small business South America

When the zipper to my pants broke yesterday, I was a little bit frustrated. These are my new pants after all; purchased after much searching in Lima, Peru. These are the pants that are supposed to last me the rest of the trip. After that brief moment of annoyance I remembered that I’m in South America, and almost certainly there would be a shop nearby that could fix them. I asked at the hostel if such a shop existed, and indeed it did! There was a clothing repair shop around the corner. It’s a one man operation; a shop with a single sewing machine and a wall of thread. The guy told me my pants would be ready tomorrow at noon (today’s Sunday, otherwise they probably would have been ready in an hour) and it would cost $6,000 Colombian Peso, or about $3.15 USD. Perfect. Sometimes South America is so easy.

Leave a Reply

