On the merits of repeat travel

sheena and i hike to observation point in Zion NP - didn't do that when i was 12!

sheena and i hike to observation point in Zion NP – didn’t do that when i was 12!

I’m a big fan of repeat travel.  I took a road trip through Utah as a kid, visiting many of the national parks, and then nearly repeated it a few years ago with Sheena.  The biggest difference between the two trips was my age.  I remembered qualifying for Junior Ranger badges, and getting snack breaks during our 8 hour car rides (regularly scheduled at 10am and 3pm).  I didn’t remember much else… The second time around I enjoyed the hiking, the extreme landscape, and I noticed all of those German families driving their Cruise America RV rentals.  I got something new out of the trip, and I don’t feel like it was a detriment to do something I’d already “done.”

Sheena and I now embark on a trip, parts of which I have already done.  I have already hiked in southern Patagonia, but how lucky to get to do it for a second time?  And now, to do it with someone I care so much about.  It will certainly add a new flavor.

Traveling as a checklist is sometimes baffling to me.  The more you travel, the more your list grows.  It becomes impossible to complete.  I want to go back to all of those towns I’ve already seen, simply because I didn’t spend enough time there.  How much time is enough?  Maybe we’ll find that out on this trip, but most likely not.

One thought on “On the merits of repeat travel

Leave a Reply

