little darlings

Untitled

Trying to decide what to pack is starting to become agonizing and irritating at the same time. The answer to the problem of bringing too much or too little should really skew towards bringing too little. After all, we’ll be in civilized countries that most likely can provide the things that I might want or need, or at least pretty fair equivalents of them.

However, trying to convince myself that I really don’t need a travel hairdryer, is another thing completely. Getting rid of all my little darlings is heartbreaking.

For help, I’ve turned to the internet… there are whole websites devoted to this single quandary, such as herpackinglist.com, which has a multitude of articles on what to bring, how to bring it, and why or why not. I’ve come to the realization that most of the articles are just trying to shill a product (such as underwear that you can take off while not taking off your pants–I have yet to grasp the usefulness of this), but some of them are helpful. And almost all of them leave me feeling like I need to remedy a lack in my packing list.

So the editing and reediting of the packing list continues while I ponder questions such as:

  • Do I really need more than 3 pairs of underwear?
  • Is it really worth paying $8 for a special pill box to carry our meds?
  • Why is my toiletry list 3 times longer that Craig’s?

And last but not least… How can I possibly fit everything I need for A WHOLE YEAR in one backpack??

Leave a Reply

